Back on the bike for Cancer Research

This a picture of my son and his good mate Jack. Jack’s known as Big Jack round these parts because my lad, Jacques, is the little one.

Yesterday, February 4th 2010, Big Jack was diagnosed with cancer. He’s only 9 years old. It’s devastating news and we’re all still reeling from it.

Looking on the bright side (and you have to) the doctors are relatively positive that two months of intense chemotherapy will stand a good chance of dealing with the tumour and that surgery will not be necessary.

I’d already been planning this year’s charity bike ride (many will know that for the past couple of years a bunch of mates and I have hauled our sorry middle-aged backsides onto unforgiving racing bikes and pedaled across various bits of European countryside for charity). However, I hadn’t, as yet, decided on which charity to support in 2010. I have now and, unsurprisingly, I’ll be raising money for Cancer Research.

You can donate online here and anything you can spare would be greatly appreciated.

4 thoughts on “Back on the bike for Cancer Research

  1. Jacko says:

    Mate – not really not quite what to say other than I’m thinking of you all. As a parent, I can’t imagine what it must be like to have to hear that news. I’ll have all my fingers and toes crossed that things work out well – as I’m sure they well.

  2. Matt says:

    Almost makes me want to don the lycra and get training.

  3. That’s terrible for such a young kid. I hope everything will be okay and they can get rid of the cancer for good. My prayers are with you Big Jack!

  4. [...] raising money for Cancer Research UK this year. For regular readers, you’ll know that one of the other reasons is young Jack, a schoolfriend of my kids who has been undergoing treatment for cancer over recent [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,928 other followers

