Speaking of Guinness

13547guinness-toucan-posters.jpgThere’s a new Guinness TV ad out – always worth a watch.  You can do so here on the Media Guardian website. 

According to the Guardian, it’s the most expensive TV ad Guinness has ever put together.  Surely not?  I reckon that dancing fella cost a pretty penny…

The ad’s OK but not my all-time favourite.  I liked the old bloke swimming across the harbour.

I reckon they’ll be telling us it was done in one take next, like that Honda one (my backside!  Tyres rolling uphill..?)

PS: I started this post 90 minutes ago.  That’s YouTube for you.

5 thoughts on “Speaking of Guinness

  1. Protagonist says:

    I meant to comment on this a couple of days ago but didn’t.

    The video is genius and whilst it doesn’t immediately make you want to go out and sup a Guinness it develops the brand’s persona in a way that the awful Cadburys Gorilla advert doesn’t. God I hate that advert.

    Personally, I preferred the old ‘tick followed tock’ Guiness surfing video. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y61CWOjBV5A

  2. Mark says:

    It makes me want to sip Guinness. Mind you, so does waking up, walking, talking and breathing.

    Do I have a problem?

  3. Protagonist says:

    Based on the ammount I’ve seen you imbibe over an evening, yes it certainly does.

    If you love Guinness so much why did you move further away from Dublin? Surely you must know that it travels very badly, the best pint of black stuff I’ve ever had was just down the road from the brewery.

  4. Mark says:

    That’s the funny thing you see. Though I’m further away geographically, it’s actually handier to be here. Ryanair flies direct from my closest airport, La Rochelle, to Dublin.

  5. Simon Marks says:

    Am I the only one who now just watches TV ads on YouTube/othervideositesareavailable.com?

    With Tivo/Sky+ I can’t remember the last time I actually saw an ad on TV. Seems a pity with all that money they spend on the media buy.

    S

Leave a Reply

