I’m not in love, so don’t forget it…

…it’s just a silly phase I’m going through.

Probably.

bb.jpg

Comfy love?  Happy Valentine’s Day.

My BlackBerry and I have been together a little over a week now. It’s been a whirlwind. For months…no, years…I’ve been resisting the whole mobile email thing.  I’d convinced myself that I liked being offline; that the time I spent away from email was time I could spend thinking, creating, ruminating. 

Of course, that was total and utter bollocks.

The time I spent away from email was time I spent fretting about what urgent matters were dropping into my inbox that would lead to chaos in the international financial markets; the opportunities that, unless responded to immediately, would slip through my fingers like an oil-coated diamond in the ocean.

People talk about the BlackBerry as the CrackBerry.  It’s unhealthily addictive, they say.  It’s not, of course.  It’s email that’s the true addiction…and I got hooked on that many years ago.  Now, instead of the addict desperately worrying about where his next hit is coming from, I have the comfort of a nice fat wrap in my trouser pocket. 

I’m not sure that analogy’s very positive.

But really, it’s great.  I travel quite a bit and now, instead of the binge email sessions I indulge in when I’m online, I have a drip-feed throughout the day.  It’s better.

And then, even as I was as happy as a puppy with a hosepipe (and believe me, they love ’em) she (for she is a she) gets even more useful.

Yesterday morning, after days of steady decline, my good lady wife was in a right old state.  Fever, snot, cough, sweats…the whole bit.  Couldn’t get out of bed.  No, she genuinely couldn’t get out of bed.  Even I had to accept that.  The kids are on half-term, there’s horse-riding to get to, painting to do and I’ve got work aplenty.  OK, so it was all a bit mad, but we managed, and the dear BB played her part magnificently.

Sorry, must go.  She’s winking at me.

12 thoughts on “I’m not in love, so don’t forget it…

  1. Dom says:

    I really love mine too, it gives me executive credibility in work situations – “Who is that guy? Oh, he has a Blackberry, he MUST be worth talking to.”

    That said, I’m much more of a reader than a typist on mine – it’s too frustrating. I wish there was a USB port where I could plug in a standard-sized keyboard!

  2. Mark says:

    That’s something I’d love to see…someone on the tube with a keyboard on their knees tapping away into the BlackBerry.

  3. james warren says:

    Charmed and heartened by your honeymoon evangelism, squire. As I’ve said elsewhere, I now do most of my surfing, media consumption, social networking and email via my *cough* Windows Mobile *cough* device. In fact, even if I’m sat at my desk with my laptop and keyboard in front of me, I’ll ‘do’ email on my more-than-a-phone. And yes, that probably does make me a fucking weirdo.

    Hope the missus is feeling better.

  4. Mark says:

    Well, her poor little battery was rather run down yesterday evening after all her hard work, but I juiced her up again overnight and she’s as fit as a fiddle today.

    Oh, right, I see what you mean. The wife. She seems to be on the mend, yes. Thanks for asking. Ahem.

  5. Giles says:

    If you got the Vodaphone version you get free Sat Nav! Has the wife threaten BB with a hammer yet? :p

  6. Mark says:

    Au contraire, she quite likes it. ‘Snazzy’ was the word. But I’m playing it smart and positioning the BB as a tool that makes my life more flexible which is to everyone’s benefit.

    Case study
    Tomorrow, we’re due to head off for a long weekend with some friends to a little place a couple of hours away in the Dordogne. I’ve actually told everyone that I work with that I’m taking tomorrow off, but the wife doesn’t know that.

    “Do you need to work tomorrow,” she asked me earlier, “so should I plan for us to head off sometime after lunch?”

    “Oh no dear,” I replied, “I’ll have the BlackBerry, so we can head off as early as you like.”

    “Brilliant!”

    Everyone’s happy.

  7. Patrick says:

    Let’s just hope she doesn’t read the blog.

  8. Matt says:

    I’m intrigued as to where the cushion in the photo came from…..

  9. Hmmm. Now is there something you’re not telling us here Mark? Why was your wife ill in the first place?

    Is this the darkside of the Blackberry we’re seeing? After many years as a Crackberry addict has she finally decided that enough is enough, has in fact given her Blackberry to you and is now going through cold turkey hell?

    Don’t succumb Mark, it’s not to late to let go!

  10. Ed says:

    I agree with number 1.
    It was great seeing a guy in a sharp London city suit the other day with top notch laptop looking really serious: playing a video game on the thing.
    I guess B. can create same affect as suit and laptop.

  11. Matt Ravden says:

    Funny that some people think Blackberries give them a bit of ‘credibility’ in business situations. I tend to think ‘you boring bastard’ – slave to the corporate uniform.

    Naturally, I have a Palm Treo ….

  12. i knew you loved it – just remember to use the auto turn-off feature

Leave a Reply

